New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Brad Harris encores in Phillip Island finale

Brad Harris followed up his reinstated race two victory with a win in the final TCR Australia race of the weekend at Phillip Island, ahead of the GRM Peugeot of Ben Bargwanna.

At the start, it was the CUPRA of Clay Richards who leapt into the lead, the Carl Cox Motorsport driver making a better getaway than pole-man Harris.

But Richards only led the opening lap, as Harris pounced to retake the lead at the final corner of the second tour, with Richards lacking the pace of the Wall Racing Honda driver.

- Advertisement -

The CUPRA driver struggled in the opening laps thereafter, dropping to third behind Bargwanna on lap three and then to fifth behind Aaron Cameron and Josh Buchan two laps later.

Things quietened down for the remainder of the race, and Harris went on to win his third race in TCR by a margin of a second and a half from Bargwanna.

Reigning champion Buchan completed the podium in third, just over three seconds off the pace, the Hyundai driver having gained two places at the start before claiming third when Cameron encountered tyre problems late in the race and lost pace.

Cameron’s late race issues promoted a raft of drivers up the order in the final laps. Wall Racing’s Tony D’Alberto was the biggest mover in the race, gaining six places from tenth on the grid. The 2022 champion moved up two places at the start and steadily gained places during the race to salvage a fourth-place finish from his weekend.

Richards was fifth, having halted his decline by the mid-stage of the race, save for losing out to the charging D’Alberto on lap ten.

Zac Soutar was the best Audi driver in sixth, ahead of the second HMO Customer Racing Hyundai of Tom Oliphant in seventh.

The top ten was completed by Dylan O’Keeffe’s Lynk & Co, Will Harris’ Honda and the limping Peugeot of Cameron.

Race result

1 74 Brad HARRIS Exclusive Switchboards Honda Civic Type-R FL5 TCR 16 29:46.2795 1:36.644 1
2 71 Ben BARGWANNA Hangcha Racing Peugeot 308 TCR 16 1.501 1:36.530 4
3 1 Josh BUCHAN HMO Customer Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR 16 3.069 1:36.725 7
4 2 Tony D’ALBERTO Honda Wall Racing Honda Civic Type-R FL5 TCR 16 5.927 1:36.697 10
5 4 Clay RICHARDS Carl Cox Motorsport Team MPC CUPRA Leon Competición TCR 16 6.314 1:36.791 2
6 110 Zac SOUTAR Tufflift Racing Audi RS3 LMS TCR II 16 12.940 1:36.648 3
7 15 Tom OLIPHANT HMO Customer Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR 16 17.129 1:37.551 8
8 11 Dylan O’KEEFFE Autoglym / Ashley Seward Motorsport Lynk & Co 03 TCR 16 22.138 1:36.611 11
9 76 Will HARRIS Exclusive Switchboards Honda Civic Type-R FK7 TCR 16 22.660 1:37.911 12
10 18 Aaron CAMERON Team Valvoline GRM Peugeot 308 TCR 16 24.633 1:36.618 6
11 33 Jordan COX Schaeffler GRM Peugeot 308 TCR 16 1:32.248 1:37.539 9
12 79 Ryan CASHA Team Valvoline GRM Peugeot 308 TCR 15 DNF 1:42.574 5
R 29 Glenn NIRWAN Tufflift Racing Audi RS3 LMS TCR II 14 DNF 1:37.928 14
R 179 Jude BARGWANNA Jude Bargwanna Motorsport Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR 0 DNF N/A 13
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -