New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

WSC Group reveals entry criteria and format for TCR World Ranking Final

WSC Group has revealed further details on the eligibility criteria for the first-ever TCR World Ranking Final, which will be held in early 2024 featuring a total of 60 of the best touring car drivers.

After the final round of the 2023 TCR World Tour, the top fifteen drivers from that series will automatically quality directly for the Qualifying Race and the Final Race of the TCR World Ranking Final.

At present, there are nine full-season drivers who are almost certain to qualify, leaving six spaces for ‘wildcard’ entries.

- Advertisement -

The 15 drivers from the top of the TCR World Tour ranking will immediately qualify for the qualifying race and final race of the event.

To determine the qualifying drivers thereafter, a series of play-off races will be held.

Priority List 1 counts the top 45 drivers in the TCR World Ranking (taken on 4 October 2023 and excluding TCR World Tour drivers).

Priority List 2 counts any drivers between 46th and 65th in the TCR World Ranking (taken on 4 October 2023 and excluding TCR World Tour drivers).

Priority List 3 will consist of 30 Wild Card drivers selected by a committee of representatives from WSC Group and the TCR manufacturers.

All qualifying entrants have to confirm their participation by 31 October 2023.

Although the circuit has yet to be confirmed, the format of the event has been revealed as a three-day event.

After the top 15 TCR World Tour drivers, the remaining 45 drivers will be divided into three groups during a social media draw ahead of the event.

Drivers in these groups will then participate in separate practice and qualifying sessions. TCR world Tour qualifying drivers get the benefit of two extra practice sessions ahead of their qualifying session on Day 2.

Three play-off races will also take place on Day 2 for the additional groups, seeing drivers race twice in 20 minute races (plus one lap), with the field consisting of two groups at a time making 30 cars on each occasion.

Points will be awarded for the play off races, with the top 15 drivers then progressing to the Finals on Day 3.

Three races will be held on the final day. A qualifying race will be held for the 15 TCR World Tour drivers and the 15 drivers who qualified through the races on day 2, each group forming a side of the grid.

A repechage race will then be held over 15 minutes plus one lap to allow four drivers from the 30 otherwise eliminated on Day 2 to gain a place for the final race.

The event culminates in a final race, of 30 minutes plus a lap, with the grid based on the results of the qualifying race, whilst those entering through the repechage race will line up in 31st to 34th.

The winner of the final race will be crowned the TCR World Ranking Drivers’ Champion, with other titles awarded for Teams’ and Manufacturers’.

€500,000 in tyre prizes for the 2024 season will be awarded to the top 15 drivers who qualified for the Final through the Play-off Races.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -