New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Tom Oliphant claims maiden TCR Australia win at Winton

Ashley Seward Motorsport’s Tom Oliphant claimed his maiden TCR Australia win in race two at Winton, with a lights-to-flag victory in the reverse grid race.

Oliphant, who has had to revert back to an Alfa Romeo for this weekend due to a parts supply issue for the team’s new Lynk & Co car, gained the reverse-grid pole thanks to finishing tenth in Saturday’s opening race.

At the start, the Brit was able to pull clear of fellow front-row starter Clay Richards, and the BTCC race winner went on to secure victory by just over a second.

- Advertisement -

Series rookie Richards took second in his Audi, with the podium being completed by the Hyundai Elantra of Josh Buchan, who moved into the place late on, after having passed Tony D’Alberto for fourth on the opening lap.

GRM’s Jordan Cox had run in third after overtaking Ben Bargwanna for the place on lap 11, but three laps from the finish he spun out of the place heading into Turn 7, sliding off the circuit onto the grass.

It took Cox a while to go get going again, dropping him to the back of the pack, where he took the chequered flag in 13th.

Cox’s demise allowed Lachlan Mineeff to finish in fourth, ahead of HMO Customer Racing’s Bailey Sweeny in fifth, the Hyundai driver having passed D’Alberto for the place on lap ten.

Reigning champion D’Alberto was sixth, ahead of Zac Soutar’s Audi in seventh – the self-run driver having been overtaken by Sweeny on lap five.

The top ten was completed by the Peugeots of Aaron Cameron and Bargwanna, the latter having dropped down the order late on with a power steering issue, whilst Audi privateer Iain McDougall was tenth.

Race one winner Michael Clemente failed to make the start of the race due to a suspected clutch or gearbox problem on his CUPRA.

Race results

1 115 Tom OLIPHANT Ashley Seward Motorsport Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR 18 26:18.6615 1:27.099 1
2 4 Clay RICHARDS Shannons Insurance / Penrite Oil Audi RS3 LMS TCR 18 1.105 1:26.925 2
3 30 Josh BUCHAN HMO Customer Racing Hyundai Elantra N TCR 18 4.624 1:26.945 7
4 14 Lachlan MINEEFF Forza Brakes Motorsport Audi RS3 LMS TCR 18 6.284 1:27.041 3
5 130 Bailey SWEENY HMO Customer Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR 18 7.326 1:26.912 9
6 1 Tony D’ALBERTO Honda Wall Racing Honda Civic Type-R FK7 TCR 18 7.530 1:27.026 6
7 110 Zac SOUTAR Team Soutar Motorsport Audi RS3 LMS TCR II 18 7.664 1:27.066 8
8 18 Aaron CAMERON Team Valvoline GRM Peugeot 308 TCR 18 8.277 1:27.102 14
9 71 Ben BARGWANNA Burson Auto Parts Racing Peugeot 308 TCR 18 11.463 1:26.959 4
10 22 Iain MCDOUGALL Melbourne Performance Centre Audi RS3 LMS TCR 18 13.948 1:27.432 11
11 74 Brad HARRIS Exclusive Switchboards Honda Civic Type-R FK7 TCR 18 14.886 1:27.299 13
12 41 Kody GARLAND Valvoline Racing GRM Peugeot 308 TCR 18 16.468 1:27.577 12
13 33 Jordan COX Schaeffler GRM Peugeot 308 TCR 18 22.294 1:26.742 5
NS 15 Michael CLEMENTE Michael Clemente Motorsport CUPRA Leon Competición TCR DNS N/A 10
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -