New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Tony D’Alberto doubles up in Queensland with race three win

Wall Racing’s Tony D’Alberto further extended his lead in the TCR Australia with victory in the final race at Queensland Raceway, once again finishing ahead of fellow Honda driver Zac Soutar.

D’Alberto started the final race of the day from the front row of the grid and when the lights went out he got off to a better start than pole man Jay Hanson, assuming the lead before the first corner.

Audi racer Hanson had earlier earned the pole, with the grid based on weekend points score, by winning race two and finishing third in yesterday’s opening race, and whilst D’Alberto had won the first race in the weekend, his finish of fifth in race two meant he had a slightly lower points tally for the weekend going into the final race.

- Advertisement -

Hanson kept D’Alberto honest in the first half of the race, but he soon came under pressure from Soutar, who then found a way past 13 into the first corner.

Soutar was then able to close in on D’Alberto, but despite some pressure late in the race he couldn’t make a move on the leader and had to settle for second.

Hanson held on to claim the final podium, ahead of Will Brown in fourth. Brown had taken fourth on the road, and had been given a five-second time penalty for contact with Luke King on the opening lap, but in the end the penalty didn’t affect his place.

HMO Customer Racing’s Bailey Sweeny was fifth, with the Hyundai driver having fought to the place after a huge battle in the mid-pack throughout the race.

It had been GRM’s Jordan Cox who had run in fourth in the opening laps of the race, but by lap three Brown had recovered after his contact with King at turn 3 on the opening lap and was back up to fourth.

Cox then came under pressure from Sweeny towards the end of the race, ultimately losing fifth as his pace faded, although he brought his Peugeot home in sixth.

King was seventh, ahead of the second HMO Hyundai of Josh Buchan in eighth.

The top ten was completed by Michael Clemente and HMO’s Nathan Morcom.

After his late-race engine issues in race two, Ashley Seward Motorsport’s Michael Caruso failed to take the start in race three, his Alfa Romeo being worked on right up until start.

In the championship, D’Alberto now has 544 points and has opened up his advantage, ahead of Cox (486), Hanson (484), Soutar (469) and Buchan (459).

The next TCR Australia event takes place at Sandown Raceway on 17 – 18 September.

Race result

1 50 Tony D’ALBERTO Honda Wall Racing Honda Civic Type-R FK7 TCR 21 26:07.9041 1:14.061 2
2 110 Zac SOUTAR Team Soutar Motorsport Honda Civic Type-R FK7 TCR 21 0.3989 1:14.069 3
3 9 Jay HANSON AWC MPC Racing Audi RS3 LMS TCR 2021 21 2.1929 1:13.940 1
4 999 Will BROWN MPC Team Liqui Moly Audi RS3 LMS TCR 21 9.6729 1:14.100 5
5 130 Bailey SWEENY HMO Customer Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR 21 12.1961 1:14.067 7
6 33 Jordan COX Swyftx GRM Peugeot 308 TCR 21 16.0140 1:14.555 6
7 2 Luke KING MOUTAI / Zip Pay Hyundai i30 N TCR 21 18.7628 1:14.602 4
8 30 Josh BUCHAN HMO Customer Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR 21 19.4463 1:14.582 10
9 15 Michael CLEMENTE Michael Clemente Motorsport Honda Civic Type-R FK7 TCR 21 19.9252 1:14.593 8
10 11 Nathan MORCOM HMO Customer Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR 21 20.5305 1:14.744 16
11 8 Dylan O’KEEFFE Schaeffler GRM Peugeot 308 TCR 21 24.1081 1:14.937 14
12 71 Ben BARGWANNA Burson Auto Parts Racing Peugeot 308 TCR 21 24.4515 1:14.883 17
13 22 Iain MCDOUGALL Melbourne Performance Centre Audi RS3 LMS TCR 21 25.8152 1:14.833 11
14 41 Kody GARLAND Valvoline Racing GRM Renault Mégane RS TCR 21 29.9827 1:14.207 18
15 18 Aaron CAMERON Team Valvoline GRM Peugeot 308 TCR 21 31.9557 1:14.877 12
16 34 James MOFFAT LCMT+ Racing GRM Renault Mégane RS TCR 21 34.6107 1:14.346 15
R 14 Lachlan MINEEFF Purple Sector Audi RS3 LMS TCR 18 DNF 1:14.618 9
NS 10 Michael CARUSO Ashley Seward Motorsport Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR DNS N/A 13
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -