New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Jay Hanson wins Queensland race two after mechanical dramas for Michael Caruso

Jay Hanson took victory in the second TCR Australia race at Queensland Raceway, after majority leader Michael Caruso suffered from a late race engine issues whilst in the lead.

Caruso had started from pole position for the partially-reversed grid race, and the Ashley Seward Motorsport driver then lead 19 of the race’s 21 laps before late heartbreak struck, forcing him to slow into retirement.

Lachlan Mineeff had been due to start alongside Caruso on the front row of the grid, but a transponder issue forced him to start from the pitlane.

- Advertisement -

That meant Caruso was defending from Michael Clemente at the start of the race, but Clemente ran wide in his Honda and allowed Melbourne Performance Centre’s Will Brown to move into second.

Brown then inherited the lead on lap 19 when smoke began to emerge from the back of Caruso’s Alfa Romeo late in the race and he slowed to retire.

But Brown’s lead would only last a lap as the hard-charging Hanson, in a newer-specification Audi, got by a lap later and went on to claim his fourth victory of the season.

Brown finished just under two seconds behind in second, remarkably only the 2019 champion’s second visit to the podium this season.

Luke King brought his independent Hyundai home in third.

Jordan Cox was the top Peugeot finisher in fourth, benefitting when Clemente ran wide through both of the opening turns to gain a place from his starting position.

Saturday’s race one winner and points leader Tony D’Alberto was fifth in his Wall Racing Honda, ahead of the independent Civic of Zac Soutar in sixth.

After a retirement in race one, GRM’s James Moffat was seventh in the top Renault, whilst Clemente brought his Honda home in eighth after his opening lap dramas.

The top ten was completed by Josh Buchan’s Hyundai – penalised in race one for contact with Caruso yesterday, costing him the reverse-grid pole – and HMO Customer Racing team-mate Bailey Sweeny, who had run wide on the opening lap and dropped outside the top ten at one stage.

Title contender Dylan O’Keeffe retired after just four laps with a hole in the radiator on his Peugeot, whilst Aaron Cameron also retired with just two laps left to run.

Race three is scheduled to get underway at 16:10 AEST (07:10 BST, 08:10 CEST).

Race result

1 9 Jay HANSON AWC MPC Racing Audi RS3 LMS TCR 2021 21 26:17.0894 1:13.909 8
2 999 Will BROWN MPC Team Liqui Moly Audi RS3 LMS TCR 21 1.774 1:14.185 3
3 2 Luke KING MOUTAI / Zip Pay Hyundai i30 N TCR 21 5.756 1:14.364 6
4 33 Jordan COX Swyftx GRM Peugeot 308 TCR 21 6.628 1:14.355 5
5 50 Tony D’ALBERTO Honda Wall Racing Honda Civic Type-R FK7 TCR 21 8.758 1:14.423 10
6 110 Zac SOUTAR Team Soutar Motorsport Honda Civic Type-R FK7 TCR 21 9.321 1:14.238 9
7 34 James MOFFAT LCMT+ Racing GRM Renault Mégane RS TCR 21 10.186 1:13.950 17
8 15 Michael CLEMENTE Michael Clemente Motorsport Honda Civic Type-R FK7 TCR 21 11.696 1:14.227 4
9 30 Josh BUCHAN HMO Customer Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR 21 12.496 1:14.415 14
10 11 Nathan MORCOM HMO Customer Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR 21 13.155 1:14.593 16
11 130 Bailey SWEENY HMO Customer Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR 21 13.735 1:14.286 7
12 71 Ben BARGWANNA Burson Auto Parts Racing Peugeot 308 TCR 21 14.929 1:14.504 15
13 14 Lachlan MINEEFF Purple Sector Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 21 15.462 1:14.009 2
14 41 Kody GARLAND Valvoline Racing GRM Renault Mégane RS TCR 21 19.728 1:14.553 18
15 22 Iain MCDOUGALL Melbourne Performance Centre Audi RS3 LMS TCR 21 20.859 1:14.487 12
16 18 Aaron CAMERON Team Valvoline GRM Peugeot 308 TCR 19 + 2 LAPS 1:14.555 13
R 10 Michael CARUSO Ashley Seward Motorsport Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR 18 DNF 1:14.069 1
R 8 Dylan O’KEEFFE Schaeffler GRM Peugeot 308 TCR 4 DNF 1:14.874 11
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -