Aaron Cameron doubles up in final Bathurst race

Aaron Cameron won the final TCR Australia race of the weekend at Bathurst by a comfortable margin over Bailey Sweeny to move himself back into championship contention.

Having scored the most points in the weekend’s first two races, GRM’s James Moffat had secured the pole position for the final race, with Cameron alongside.

At the start, however, Cameron was into the lead before the first corner and the Peugeot driver quickly scampered off into a clear lead, with a margin of over six and a half seconds by the end of the first tour.

- Advertisement -

And that was largely as close as the chasing field got for the rest of the race, as Cameron became a four-time winner in the series, of which three have come at Mount Panorama, with an easy victory.

Moffat ran in second until lap six, when Sweeny managed to get down the inside at The Chase, the HMO Customer Racing driver having gained fourth from Ben Bargwanna at the same place on the outside three laps prior, and then getting past Dylan O’Keeffe a lap later.

Moffat held third for one more lap, but was then tapped into a huge slide at Griffins Bend by O’Keeffe a lap later, dropping him to sixth.

O’Keeffe would go on to complete the podium behind Sweeny, but the GRM Peugeot driver was later handed a post-race ten second penalty for the incident with Moffat, dropping him to ninth.

That promoted HMO’s Josh Buchan into third, the Hyundai driver having gained to places on the lap when Moffat was tapped wide, as Ben Bargwanna dropped two places in quick succession to Brown and Buchan after going wide exiting the final turn.

Moffat ultimately was classified in fourth after the penalties to two of his rivals were applied, ahead of Bargwanna in fifth.

Brown was sixth after his five-second penalty for contact with Buchan was applied, ahead of the independent Hyundai of Brad Shiels in seventh.

Championship leader Tony D’Alberto once again scored consistently and was eighth, ahead of O’Keeffe and GRM’s Jordan Cox, who again had to charge through the field from the back of the grid, making up 11 places over the course of the race.

Michael Caruso claimed 11th in the Ashley Seward Motorsport Alfa Romeo, having been dumped out of the top ten by Cox with three laps to go.

Luke King would have brought his Hyundai home in 12th but he was given a post-race 30-second time penalty for contact with Tim Slade on lap seven, which saw the Wall Racing driver spin out of 11th at the final corner, dropping King to 19th and giving the place to Michael Clemente.

Ultimately all drivers were classified finishers in the race, with GRM’s Kody Garland finishing two laps down after having had to pit for repairs when he crashed into the tyres at Griffins Bend on the opening lap.

D’Alberto continues to lead the championship with 322 points, ahead of Brown (285) and O’Keeffe (280), with none of the top three having yet won a race, such is the importance of consistency in the series.

The next round of TCR Australia takes place at Sydney Motorsport Park on 27 – 29 May.

Race results

1 18 Aaron CAMERON Team Valvoline GRM Peugeot 308 TCR 10 22:28.5423 2:14.330 2
2 130 Bailey SWEENY HMO Customer Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR 10 6.612 2:13.902 5
3 30 Josh BUCHAN HMO Customer Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR 10 11.121 2:14.579 6
4 34 James MOFFAT LCMT+ Racing GRM Renault Mégane RS TCR 10 12.830 2:14.942 1
5 71 Ben BARGWANNA Burson Auto Parts Racing Peugeot 308 TCR 10 13.522 2:14.789 4
6 999 Will BROWN MPC Team Liqui Moly Audi RS3 LMS TCR 10 14.745 2:14.036 8
7 333 Brad SHIELS Royal Purple Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR 10 15.127 2:15.143 10
8 50 Tony D’ALBERTO Honda Wall Racing Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 10 16.572 2:15.452 7
9 8 Dylan O’KEEFFE Schaeffler GRM Peugeot 308 TCR 10 17.941 2:14.326 3
10 33 Jordan COX Swyftx GRM Peugeot 308 TCR 10 18.034 2:14.161 21
11 10 Michael CARUSO Ashley Seward Motorsport Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR 10 27.454 2:16.513 9
12 15 Michael CLEMENTE Michael Clemente Motorsport Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 10 27.811 2:15.856 13
13 110 Zac SOUTAR Team Soutar Motorsport Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 10 28.130 2:15.944 15
14 9 Jay HANSON AWC MPC Racing Audi RS3 LMS TCR 10 28.567 2:15.541 12
15 11 Nathan MORCOM HMO Customer Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR 10 29.603 2:15.294 16
16 89 Braydan WILLMINGTON Braydan Willmington Motorsport Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR 10 36.193 2:16.096 19
17 24 Tim SLADE Stan Sport Wall Racing Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 10 36.841 2:15.187 11
18 22 Iain MCDOUGALL Melbourne Performance Centre Audi RS3 LMS TCR 10 51.639 2:15.805 20
19 2 Luke KING MOUTAI / Zip Pay Hyundai i30 N TCR 10 58.792 2:15.798 14
20 14 Lachlan MINEEFF Purple Sector Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 10 59.413 2:15.220 18
21 41 Kody GARLAND Valvoline Racing GRM Renault Mégane RS TCR 8 + 2 LAPS 2:25.304 17
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -