Dominik Fugel wins again at Sachsenring despite penalty

Honda ADAC Sachsen’s Dominik Fugel once again proved to be unstoppable in the second ADAC TCR Germany race at the Sachsenring, beating Hyundai Team Engstler’s Luca Engstler to the win despite a jump-start penalty.

Fugel had comfortably claimed his second pole position of the weekend earlier in the day, and he continued his form in race two in eastern Germany.

At the start, Fugel made a clean getaway to assume the lead, although the stewards later decided he had jumped the start and handed him a five-second time penalty.

- Advertisement -

Despite that, the Honda driver was unstoppable and eased to a victory by over 17 seconds, easily negating the penalty.

Engstler again lacked the pace to take the fight to Fugel, although by finishing second he has kept a comfortable margin in the drivers’ championship standings, with Fugel having moved up to second thanks to his win, 68 points behind Engstler.

Nico Gruber lost out to Engstler at the start, the German going around the outside of the Austrian at the first corner, and ultimately had to settle for the final podium position.

Marcel Fugel, celebrating his birthday, had been applying pressure to Gruber for the final podium place, but once again luck was not on the Honda driver’s side and he retired on lap 15 after suffering from yet another mechanical issue – his second in as many races.

That promoted Hyundai Team Engstler’s Martin Andersen up to fourth, the Dane having gained one place at the start but running in fifth for most of the race.

Robin Jahr brought his Hyundai home in fifth, ahead of Wimmer Werk Motorsport’s Eric Scalvini in sixth. After another difficult qualifying session, Scalvini jumped from 13th on the grid to seventh at the start of the race, and the CUPRA driver only gained one more place with Marcel Fugel’s demise.

Jonas Karklys was seventh in his Hyundai ahead of Lubner Motorsport’s Philipp Regensperger in eighth. Regensperger had battled with Albert Legutko and Karklys in the mid-stage of the race, losing out to the latter after several trips wide through the gravel.

The top ten was completed by René Kircher’s Volkswagen and Christopher Röhner’s Honda, the latter losing a handful of place on lap nine when he went through the Turn 6 gravel, after running in ninth at one stage. Kircher had been knocked to the back of the field on the opening lap when he was punted into the gravel by Patrick Sing.

Albert Legutko was 11th in his older-model Honda, the Pole being another driver to make several trips wide through the Turn 6 gravel.

An early race safety car period was needed when Günter Benninger spun off unassisted into the gravel at Turn 6.

An incident between Sing and Kircher will be investigated after the race, after Sing, who ultimately retired, hit the Volkswagen driver on the opening lap at the penultimate turn.

Race result

1 88 Dominik FUGEL Honda ADAC Sachsen Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 19 19 LAPS 1:26.835 1
2 8 Luca ENGSTLER Hyundai Team Engstler Hyundai i30 N TCR 19 17.286 1:28.302 3
3 97 Nicolas GRUBER Hyundai Team Engstler Hyundai i30 N TCR 19 19.353 1:28.609 2
4 19 Martin ANDERSEN Hyundai Team Engstler Hyundai i30 N TCR 19 19.571 1:29.359 6
5 22 Robin JAHR ROJA Motorsport by ASL Lichtblau Hyundai i30 N TCR 19 22.266 1:29.303 10
6 6 Eric SCALVINI Wimmer Werk Motorsport CUPRA Leon Competición TCR 19 24.321 1:29.539 13
7 27 Jonas KARKLYS NordPass Hyundai i30 N TCR 19 26.631 1:29.147 9
8 33 Philipp REGENSPERGER Lubner Motorsport Opel Astra TCR 19 27.167 1:29.506 7
9 80 René KIRCHER Volkswagen Team Oettinger Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 19 27.657 1:29.306 8
10 47 Christopher RÖHNER Honda ADAC Sachsen Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 19 35.338 1:29.448 5
11 17 Albert LEGUTKO Albert Legutko Racing Honda Civic Type-R FK2 TCR 19 36.640 1:29.711 14
12 9 Roland HERTNER Hyundai Team Engstler Hyundai i30 N TCR 19 37.390 1:29.887 15
13 21 Szymon ŁADNIAK JP Motorsport CUPRA TCR 19 40.782 1:30.217 12
R 55 Marcel FUGEL Honda ADAC Sachsen Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 15 DNF 1:28.559 4
R 34 Patrick SING RaceSing Hyundai i30 N TCR 6 DNF 1:30.209 11
R 56 Günter BENNINGER Wimmer Werk Motorsport CUPRA Leon Competición TCR 1 DNF N/A 17
NS 5 Peter GROSS Wimmer Werk Motorsport Audi RS3 LMS TCR DNS N/A 16
NS 99 Christian VOITHOFER Wimmer Werk Motorsport CUPRA Leon Competición TCR DNS N/A
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -