Luca Engstler doubles up in Lausitzring race two

Luca Engstler took another victory in a shortened second ADAC TCR Germany race at the EuroSpeedway Lausitz, getting the jump on pole-sitter and team-mate Martin Andersen at the start of the race.

Engstler made a superior start in his Hyundai i30 N TCR to jump past Dane Andersen into the first corner, having earlier lost out on pole position to his team-mate in qualifying by three tenths of a second.

Behind them, Günter Benninger missed his braking point for the first corner by some distance, with the Austrian ploughing into the back of Szymon Ładniak’s Volkswagen who in turn also collected Patrick Sing’s Hyundai.

- Advertisement -

The incident forced all three drivers out of the race on the spot, whilst also necessitating a safety car period for the next four laps.

Racing resumed on lap six, with Engstler initially easing away from team-mate Andersen, as further back Eric Scalvini, who had challenged for second at the first corner but later dropped back, was pressuring Marcel Fugel for fifth.

Scalvini kept pressuring Fugel’s Honda for the position for much of the rest of the race, before making a mistake at Turn 1 on the tenth lap which allowed Robin Jahr to close in and ultimately pass for sixth at the end of the lap.

Whilst Andersen kept Engstler honest at the front for much of the race, in the end he had no answer and had to settle for his second successive second-place finish, just under a second behind Engstler.

Dominik Fugel had a relatively quiet race to third, ahead of the Hyundai of Nicolas Gruber in fourth, who had made up both of his places on the opening lap.

Marcel Fugel claimed fifth ahead of Jahr in sixth, whilst Scalvini only just clung on to seventh at the end of the race.

Jonas Karklys had started from fifth but dropped to 11th on the first lap, although the Lithuanian Hyundai driver made strong progress in the second half of the race, including taking eighth from Philipp Regensperger at Turn 8 on lap 11 with a confident pass.

Regensperger’s Opel and Christopher Röhner’s Honda completed the top ten.

Engstler’s fourth win of the year means he has extended his championship lead to 186 points, ahead of Dominik Fugel (127), Scalvini (126), Andersen (111) and Gruber (96).

The next round of TCR Germany takes place at the Hockenheimring next weekend.

Race results

1 8 Luca ENGSTLER Hyundai Team Engstler Hyundai i30 N TCR 13 22:08.472 1:30.897 2
2 19 Martin ANDERSEN Hyundai Team Engstler Hyundai i30 N TCR 13 0.927 1:30.915 1
3 88 Dominik FUGEL Honda ADAC Sachsen Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 13 3.819 1:31.104 3
4 97 Nicolas GRUBER Hyundai Team Engstler Hyundai i30 N TCR 13 6.954 1:31.275 6
5 55 Marcel FUGEL Honda ADAC Sachsen Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 13 9.078 1:31.531 9
6 22 Robin JAHR ROJA Motorsport by ASL Lichtblau Hyundai i30 N TCR 13 12.008 1:31.654 8
7 6 Eric SCALVINI Wimmer Werk Motorsport CUPRA Leon Competición TCR 13 14.422 1:31.779 4
8 27 Jonas KARKLYS NordPass Hyundai i30 N TCR 13 14.698 1:31.117 5
9 33 Philipp REGENSPERGER Lubner Motorsport Opel Astra TCR 13 16.665 1:31.732 7
10 47 Christopher RÖHNER Honda ADAC Sachsen Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 13 17.071 1:31.828 11
11 9 Roland HERTNER Hyundai Team Engstler Hyundai i30 N TCR 13 18.771 1:32.118 13
12 5 Peter GROSS Wimmer Werk Motorsport Audi RS3 LMS TCR 13 21.117 1:32.048 14
13 99 Christian VOITHOFER Wimmer Werk Motorsport CUPRA Leon Competición TCR 13 33.423 1:33.074 15
14 17 Albert LEGUTKO Albert Legutko Racing Honda Civic Type-R FK2 TCR 13 1:19.496 1:37.726 17
R 21 Szymon ŁADNIAK JP Motorsport Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 0 DNF N/A 10
R 34 Patrick SING RaceSing Hyundai i30 N TCR 0 DNF N/A 12
R 56 Günter BENNINGER Wimmer Werk Motorsport CUPRA Leon Competición TCR 0 DNF N/A 16
NS 80 René KIRCHER Volkswagen Team Oettinger Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR DNS N/A
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -