Eric Scalvini doubles up at the Red Bull Ring

Eric Scalvini completed a perfect weekend in the ADAC TCR Germany series at the Red Bull Ring, as the Team Wimmer Werk driver once again led from lights-to-flag to win race two.

Scalvini had earlier in the day qualified his CUPRA on pole position for the second time, and in the race the Italian once again proved to be unstoppable.

Team Honda ADAC Sachsen’s Dominik Fugel started alongside on the front row and was Scalvini’s closest challenger, remaining close to the leader but never being quite close enough to challenge, as he had to settle for second.

- Advertisement -

Luca Engstler kept close to the leading duo for much of the race but did not challenge and brought his Hyundai home in third, the German nevertheless holding on to his championship advantage over Scalvini.

In an eventful race, Patrick Sing brought his Hyundai across the finish line in fourth. The Hyundai driver was in eighth at the end of the opening lap but benefitted from a number of midfield scuffles which worked in his favour.

Philipp Regensperger had been running his Opel Astra in fourth on the first lap and was passed by both Nico Gruber and Martin Andersen further around the lap.

Sandro Soubek tried to get involved in his Audi on the following lap but contact between the two meant they had to swap positions, much to Soubek’s despair as a lap later he had passed Andersen’s Hyundai at Turn 3.

Soubek, Andersen and Regensperger continued battling hard until the safety car was required on lap five when Andreas Höfler was pitched hard into the barriers after contact with Robin Jahr’s Hyundai.

Two laps of safety car clean up were required and when racing resumed on lap seven the battles resumed with Soubek and Regensperger, until the latter’s Opel slowed on the exit of Turn 1 on lap nine, immediately after passing Soubek.

The safety car was needed again, although just for one lap. Soubek began battling withy Andersen for fifth, but the pair both ran wide and allowed Sing through.

Sing then passed Gruber for fourth on lap 13 as his pace improved late in the race, although he couldn’t catch the podium runners.

Gruber took fifth, whilst Andersen claimed sixth, with Soubek having dropped back on the final lap to a lowly 11th place finish.

Jonas Karklys brought his Hyundai home in seventh, the Lithuanian passed Jahr for the position six laps from the end, with Jahr crossing the line in eighth.

The top ten was completed by the second Wimmer Werk CUPRA of Günter Benninger and JP Motorsport’s Szymon Ładniak, the latter having been running in ninth before he was turned into the barriers by Roland Hertner on the penultimate lap.

Marcel Fugel finished the race a lap down after the Honda driver had to make an unscheduled pitstop after earlier slowing with issues on his car.

Four races into the season, Engstler leads the standings with 118 points ahead of Scalvini on 99, Dominik Fugel on 94 and Gruber on 61.

The next event in the series takes place at the Nürburgring on 7 – 8 August.

Race results

1 6 Eric SCALVINI Wimmer Werk Motorsport CUPRA Leon Competición TCR 18 32:48.159 1:37.613 1
2 88 Dominik FUGEL Honda ADAC Sachsen Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 18 1.901 1:38.286 2
3 8 Luca ENGSTLER Hyundai Team Engstler Hyundai i30 N TCR 18 5.873 1:38.333 3
4 34 Patrick SING RaceSing Hyundai i30 N TCR 18 11.917 1:38.852 10
5 97 Nicolas GRUBER Hyundai Team Engstler Hyundai i30 N TCR 18 12.841 1:39.010 8
6 19 Martin ANDERSEN Hyundai Team Engstler Hyundai i30 N TCR 18 13.642 1:38.661 9
7 27 Jonas KARKLYS NordPass Hyundai i30 N TCR 18 19.322 1:39.209 12
8 22 Robin JAHR ROJA Motorsport by ASL Lichtblau Hyundai i30 N TCR 18 19.722 1:39.529 11
9 56 Günter BENNINGER Wimmer Werk Motorsport CUPRA Leon Competición TCR 18 30.691 1:40.168 19
10 21 Szymon ŁADNIAK JP Motorsport Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 18 32.883 1:39.649 18
11 23 Sandro SOUBEK Mair Racing Osttirol Audi RS3 LMS TCR 18 33.351 1:38.215 7
12 66 Mario KLAMMER Lubner Motorsport Opel Astra TCR 18 37.189 1:39.941 15
13 99 Christian VOITHOFER Wimmer Werk Motorsport CUPRA Leon Competición TCR 18 42.831 1:41.028 20
14 80 René KIRCHER Volkswagen Team Oettinger Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 18 1:04.215 1:42.833 6
15 9 Roland HERTNER Hyundai Team Engstler Hyundai i30 N TCR 17 + 1 LAP 1:39.567 17
16 55 Marcel FUGEL Honda ADAC Sachsen Honda Civic Type-R FK8 TCR 17 + 1 LAP 1:39.036 4
R 5 Peter GROSS Wimmer Werk Motorsport Audi RS3 LMS TCR 10 DNF 1:40.203 16
R 33 Philipp REGENSPERGER Lubner Motorsport Opel Astra TCR 7 DNF 1:38.761 5
R 44 Andreas HÖFLER Lubner Motorsport Opel Astra TCR 3 DNF 1:40.092 14
NS 17 Albert LEGUTKO Albert Legutko Racing Honda Civic Type-R FK2 TCR DNS N/A 13
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -