New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Cyan Racing retains Thed Björk whilst Andy Priaulx leaves team

Cyan Racing has confirmed that Thed Björk will continue with the team for the 2020 FIA World Touring Car Cup, whilst also revealing that Andy Priaulx has left the team after just one season.

Björk had been expected to remain with the Swedish team with which he has spent much of his tin-top career, with the 2017 WTCC champion continuing to campaign a Lynk & Co 03 TCR.

Björk finished the 2019 WTCR season fourth overall in the drivers’ standings, claiming three victories in the first half of the year in what was Cyan Racing’s first season in Lynk & Co machinery.

- Advertisement -

At the same time, Cyan has confirmed that three-time World Touring Car champion Andy Priaulx has left the season after just one year. Priaulx ended the 2019 season 18th overall in the drivers’ standings, after claiming just one win, in Macau.

“Thed and Andy are undoubtably two of the best touring car drivers in the world,,” said Cyan Racing CEO Christian Dahl.

“While we are delighted to continue our successful cooperation with Thed, we are of course sad to see Andy go.

“We do however fully respect his decision and we will keep in touch with him for the future. We have begun our work to find a new driver for the coming season.”

Björk enters into his ninth season with the team, as he seeks to fight for the title once again in 2020. Björk had remained in title contention throughout much of 2019, before dropping back in the penultimate event at Macau.

“We as a team had a great season in 2019 while I hoped for more personally,” said Björk. “To win the team title is still the main goal for the 2020 season and my personal goal is obviously to move forward in the drivers’ championship, to again fight for the title.

“The few test days we were able to perform before the lockdown were really promising and fills me with confidence ahead of this season.

“I am sorry to see Andy go, we had a great cooperation last year, and I wish him the best for the future.”

Björk and his yet-to-be-confirmed team-mate will race under the banner of Cyan Performance Lynk & Co in 2020, whilst Yvan Muller and Yann Ehrlacher will race under the banner ‘Cyan Racing Lynk & Co’.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -