Diego Moran doubles up in race two as Luca Engstler seals title

Diego Moran took victory in the second TCR Asia race on the streets of Bangsaen in Thailand, as his team-mate Luca Engstler was crowned as the champion for the second successive season.

Moran came through from fourth on the grid to win and confirm his second place in the standings, with the Ecuadorian only missing out on the title in the end by fifteen points after his fourth win of the year.

Eurasia Motorsport’s Gao Hua Yang was the early leader of the reverse-grid race, having passed Douglas Khoo after the first few corners, until Moran made his way past on lap three and then built up a comfortable gap to the chasing pack.

- Advertisement -

Gao held second until lap six, when both Pepe Oriola and Engstler got past their fellow Hyundai driver. In the end the duo would remain in that order, with Oriola recording his fifth second place finish of the year ahead of the new champion, despite the duo catching Moran and partaking in a fierce battle for the lead in the latter laps of the race.

Gao ultimately finished in fourth, ahead of Khoo in fifth, despite the Malaysian CUPRA driver receiving a drive-through penalty for jumping the start.

Daniel Miranda, in a repaired Eurasia Hyundai after being part of a huge Saturday accident, was sixth and the last classified finisher.

Teamwork Motorsport’s David Lau retired after two laps, and Volkswagen Team Oettinger’s Roland Hertner after one lap, as only eight cars took the start.

Adam Khalid was missing due to recurring gearbox issues on his Engstler Motorsport Golf GTi, whilst neither Kim Jin Soo nor Jakraphan Davee were able to get their Hyundai and CUPRA cars to the grid after their big accident in Saturday’s race.

The fifth season of TCR Asia thus concludes with Engstler taking the title after five wins and 221 points, ahead of Moran on 206 points and Oriola on 156 points.

Race result

1 23 Diego MORAN Liqui Moly Team Engstler Hyundai i30 N TCR 15 26:06.377 1:43.253 4
2 74 Pepe ORIOLA Solite Indigo Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR 15 0.425 1:41.789 5
3 1 Luca ENGSTLER Liqui Moly Team Engstler Hyundai i30 N TCR 15 2.896 1:41.496 6
4 30 GAO Hua Yang Eurasia Motorsport Hyundai i30 N TCR 15 22.105 1:44.557 2
5 65 Douglas KHOO Kok Hui Viper Niza Racing CUPRA TCR 14 + 1 LAP 1:48.373 1
6 20 Daniel MIRANDA Eurasia Motorsport Hyundai i30 N TCR 13 + 2 LAPS 2:00.273 3
R 36 David LAU Teamwork Motorsport Audi RS3 LMS TCR 2 DNF 1:51.691 8
R 3 Roland HERTNER Volkswagen Team Oettinger Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR 1 DNF 1:51.690 7
NS 97 KIM Jin Soo Solite Indigo Racing Hyundai i30 N TCR DNS N/A
NS 33 Jakraphan DAVEE AlphaFactory Racing Team by Pulzar CUPRA TCR DNS N/A
NS 4 Adam KHALID Volkswagen Team Oettinger Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR DNS N/A
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -