Bas Koeten Racing and CUPRA claim victory in Nürburgring 24 Hour TCR...

Bas Koeten Racing and CUPRA claim victory in Nürburgring 24 Hour TCR class

Nürburgring 24 Hours TCR
Photo: SEAT

Bas Koeten Racing took victory in the TCR class of the Nürburgring 24 Hour race at the weekend, with Jordi Gené, Antti Buri, Kari-Pekka Laaksonen and Olli Kangas sharing the victory honours.

The endurance race took place in mixed conditions, with sun, rain and fog creating challenging conditions for the drivers.

The CUPRA driven by the quartet was a full lap ahead of the leading car from the much-fancied Target Competition-run Hyundai effort, with the #831 i30 N TCR of Nicola Larini, Manuel Lauck, Andreas Gülden and Peter Terting finishing second in class.

However the Hyundai cars suffered from technical issues during the race, allowing the Prosport Performance Audi of Christoph Breuer, Markus Oestreich, Jürgen Nett and Kenneth Østvold to take the lead until the 15th hour.

In the end the Audi, which had dropped to third in the 16th hour, suffered from a technical issue which took it out of the race, giving the leading CUPRA the chance to claim victory.

The #831 Hyundai also had to contend with a gearbox oil leak after debris on track damaged the component.

The CUPRA was 32nd overall, having completed 121 laps of the 25.9 kilometre track.

The second #830 Hyundai driven by Moritz Oestreich, Jae Kyun Kim, Byung Hui Kang and Guido Naumann finished the race fourth in class, after completing 113 laps.