New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Tom Ingram smashes qualifying lap record to claim Thruxton pole

Tom Ingram set a new qualifying lap record en route to taking pole position for Round 7 of the 2016 British Touring Car Championship, the first of tomorrow’s triple-header of races at Thruxton.

Ingram secured his second pole position of the campaign with a fastest lap time of 1:16.161, just 0.033 seconds ahead of a fantastic performance by Aiden Moffat to secure the other spot on the front row in the Laser Tools Racing Mercedes A-Class. Matt Neal came next with a full quota of 75kg of success ballast on board his Honda Civic Type R, with the MG duo of Josh Cook and Ashley Sutton and Adam Morgan rounding out the top six.

The theme of the session was track limits, as Matt Neal had his fastest lap time disallowed whilst sitting atop the timesheets, before Ingram then had a brace of pole position laps wiped out by the officials on consecutive laps. A number of other drivers up and down the field fell foul of the stewards verdict, but the grid was fairly representative of the pace nonetheless.

- Advertisement -

Andrew Jordan, who put in a brace of strong free practice performances in topping the first session and finishing runner up to Ingram in the second, could only manage 8th fastest in his Pirtek Racing Ford Focus, behind Jeff Smith who rounded out a strong day for Eurotech Racing to head up the fourth row of the field.

The West Surrey Racing trio struggled in the afternoon sunshine in Hampshire, managing a best of 10th with Sam Tordoff whilst his team-mates Jack Goff and local hero Rob Collard fell further back to 12th and 18th respectively.

The only team on the grid to field more cars than WSR, Silverline Subaru BMR Racing, had another afternoon to develop the Subaru Levorg and Colin Turkington, a previous race-winner at Thruxton and rear-wheel drive specialist, led the line for the Buntingford-based outfit in 13th, with his team-mates Jason Plato, Warren Scott and James Cole lining up further back in 21st, 28th and 29th.

It was a frustrating session for some of the championship contenders, with defending champion Gordon Shedden only able to manage a best time of 11th, almost eight tenths of a second shy of Ingram, whilst Mat Jackson, a race winner last time out at Donington Park, could only struggle to 14th.

After another dramatic thirty minute shootout, Ingram makes it a 66.6% strike rate in qualifying so far this campaign, and will look to repeat his lights-to-flag victory at Brands Hatch six weeks ago when the first race gets underway tomorrow afternoon at 12:12. As always, the action is live on ITV4 and in HD.

Qualifying times

1 80 Tom INGRAM Speedworks Motorsport Toyota Avensis 16 1:16.161
2 16 Aiden MOFFAT Laser Tools Racing Mercedes-Benz A-Class 12 1:16.194 0.033
3 25 M Matt NEAL Halfords Yuasa Racing Honda Civic Type R 9 1:16.247 0.086
4 66 M Josh COOK MG Racing RCIB Insurance MG6GT 12 1:16.577 0.416
5 116 M Ashley SUTTON MG Racing RCIB Insurance MG6GT 14 1:16.727 0.566
6 33 Adam MORGAN WIX Racing Mercedes-Benz A-Class 12 1:16.811 0.650
7 55 Jeff SMITH Eurotech Racing Honda Civic Type R 16 1:16.826 0.665
8 77 Andrew JORDAN Motorbase Performance Ford Focus 15 1:16.845 0.684
9 40 Árón SMITH BKR Volkswagen CC 14 1:16.864 0.703
10 600 C Sam TORDOFF Team JCT600 with GardX BMW 125i M Sport 16 1:16.887 0.726
11 52 M Gordon SHEDDEN Halfords Yuasa Racing Honda Civic Type R 15 1:16.933 0.772
12 31 C Jack GOFF Team IHG Rewards Club BMW 125i M Sport 16 1:16.989 0.828
13 4 M Colin TURKINGTON Silverline Subaru BMR Racing Subaru Levorg GT 17 1:17.089 0.928
14 7 Mat JACKSON Motorbase Performance Ford Focus 14 1:17.112 0.951
15 24 Jake HILL RCIB Insurance Racing Toyota Avensis 16 1:17.237 1.076
16 23 Daniel LLOYD Eurotech Racing Honda Civic Type R 11 1:17.252 1.091
17 30 Martin DEPPER Eurotech Racing Honda Civic Type R 16 1:17.253 1.092
18 100 C Rob COLLARD Team JCT600 with GardX BMW 125i M Sport 18 1:17.461 1.300
19 53 Hunter ABBOTT Power Maxed Racing Chevrolet Cruze 12 1:17.516 1.355
20 17 Dan WELCH Goodestone Racing Proton Persona 14 1:17.529 1.368
21 99 M Jason PLATO Silverline Subaru BMR Racing Subaru Levorg GT 14 1:17.644 1.483
22 12 Mike EPPS RCIB Insurance Racing Toyota Avensis 18 1:17.676 1.515
23 303 Matt SIMPSON Speedworks Motorsport Honda Civic Type R 15 1:17.697 1.536
24 11 Rob AUSTIN Handy Motorsport Toyota Avensis 13 1:17.880 1.719
25 48 Ollie JACKSON AmD Tuning Audi S3 17 1:18.659 2.498
26 14 Alex MARTIN Dextra Racing with Team Parker Ford Focus 16 1:18.705 2.544
27 84 Kelvin FLETCHER Power Maxed Racing Chevrolet Cruze 14 1:18.828 2.667
28 39 M Warren SCOTT Silverline Subaru BMR Racing Subaru Levorg GT 15 1:18.879 2.718
29 20 M James COLE Silverline Subaru BMR Racing Subaru Levorg GT 16 1:19.145 2.984
30 38 Mark HOWARD BKR Volkswagen CC 12 1:20.110 3.949
31 95 Stewart LINES Maximum Motorsport Ford Focus 16 1:20.616 4.455
32 22 Chris SMILEY TLC Racing Toyota Avensis 1 No time N/A

Complete session results

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -