2016 TCR International Series calendar revealed

2016 TCR International Series calendar revealed

TCR start

TCR startThe calendar for the 2016 TCR International Series is in its final stages of being confirmed, with the series set to once again share events with Formula One in Bahrain, Singapore and Malaysia.

The plan is for the international touring car series to begin with the Formula One grand prix in Bahrain on April 3 2016.

The calendar is in the final stages of negotiation with Formula One Management, whilst the rest of the calendar is understood to follow the same pattern as that of its maiden season in 2015.

Marcello Lotti explained that he had a few more steps to take to complete the calendar for the second season.

“We are currently negotiating with the Formula One Management, and our wish is to be part of the Bahrain, Singapore and Malaysia Grands Prix,” said Lotti, “which would result in a season’s kick off in Bahrain on April 3.”

There will be six events in Europe, including largely the same venues as 2015, although a round at Oschersleben in Germany replaces the Spanish round held in Valencia this year. A round at spa Francorchamps has also been added to the calendar, part of the World Endurance Championship weekend.

The dates for the events in China and Thailand have still to be confirmed.

The calendar has also expanded to 12 events, with a total of 24 races concluding at the famous Circuito da Guia in Macau in November.

Provisional 2016 calendar

Round Country Circuit Date
1, 2 Bahrain International Circuit 1 – 3 April
3, 4 Estoril 22 – 24 April
5, 6 Spa Francorchamps 6 – 8 May
7, 8 Monza 20 – 22 May
9, 10 Salzburgring 3 – 5 June
11, 12 Oschersleben 17 – 19 June
13, 14 Soci Autodrom 1 – 3 July
15, 16 China (with CTCC) 26 – 28 August (TBC)
17, 18 Marina Bay Street Circuit 16 – 18 September
19, 20 Sepang International Circuit 30 Sep – 2 Oct
21, 22 Buriram International Circuit 28 – 30 October (TBC)
23, 24 Circuito da Guia 17 – 20 November