New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Historic maiden win for Pol Rosell and new TCR Volkswagen

Pol Rosell scored a historic first win for the new Volkswagen Golf in the TCR International Series in race two at the Red Bull Ring, withstanding pressure from Craft-Bamboo Racing’s Pepe Oriola to win on his and the car’s début.

Liqui Moly Team Engstler driver Rosell led the race from lights to flag from pole position, opening up and managing a one-second lead until around lap ten, when Oriola closed to within a few tenths of his fellow Spaniard, having been on a charge since passing team-mate Jordi Gené. However Rosell was able to withstand the pressure and take Engstler Motorsport’s second-ever win in the series, and the first for the new car and himself on his début.

Oriola took second, making it two podium finishes in Austria to take over the championship lead from Stefano Comini, who scored just two points in ninth. Gené completed the all-Spanish podium behind his team-mate to remain in title contention, 24 points adrift of his team-mate.

- Advertisement -

There was controversy on lap five as WestCoast Racing’s Gianni Morbidelli, who had earlier been stripped of his race one victory for unsporting driving, made a mistake which resulted in contact with Comini, causing the Italian to retire from the race. Comini was able to continue, but only to limp home more than a minute adrift to score a couple of points.

The drama left Sergey Afanasyev to finish in fourth behind his two Craft-Bamboo Racing team-mates, ahead of the lead Honda of Kevin Gleason in fifth.

Mikhail Grachev brought the second of the new VW Golf cars home in sixth, having lost a position at the start of the race from the front row and then succumbed to the charging Oriola later in the race.

The third Liqui Moly Team Engstler car of Lorenzo Veglia finished in seventh, ahead of Michela Cerruti in eighth, who scored points in her first-ever TCR appearance.

Comini and Target Competition Gabriele Marotta completed the top ten, whilst team-mate Andrea Belicchi was forced to retire from the race after 11 laps with mechanical problems.

The Proteam Racing Ford Focus of Diego Romanini again suffered mechanical problems, stopping on the circuit after seven laps whilst running in last position at the time. Igor Skuz also retired after four laps, having gone off the circuit and damaged the front-left wheel of his Honda.

Dániel Nagy failed to start the race as a result of his accident in the opening race.

Race result

1 42 Pol ROSELL Liqui Moly Team Engstler Volkswagen Golf TCR 14 14 LAPS 1:40.992 1
2 74 Pepe ORIOLA Team Craft-Bamboo LUKOIL SEAT León Racer 14 0.38 1:40.919 5
3 88 Jordi GENÉ Team Craft-Bamboo LUKOIL SEAT León Racer 14 1.473 1:41.091 3
4 77 Sergey AFANASYEV Team Craft-Bamboo LUKOIL SEAT León Racer 14 3.701 1:40.917 6
5 24 Kevin GLEASON West Coast Racing Honda Civic TCR 14 4.965 1:41.034 9
6 8 Mikhail GRACHEV Liqui Moly Team Engstler Volkswagen Golf TCR 14 13.338 1:41.008 2
7 7 Lorenzo VEGLIA Liqui Moly Team Engstler SEAT León Racer 14 15.612 1:42.029 12
8 41 Michela CERRUTI Target Competition SEAT León Racer 14 16.315 1:41.606 13
9 25 Stefano COMINI Target Competition SEAT León Racer 14 1:05.927 1:40.930 7
10 40 Gabriele MAROTTA Target Competition SEAT León Racer 14 1:43.533 1:46.281 14
R 33 Andrea BELICCHI Target Competition SEAT León Racer 11 3 Laps 1:41.233 4
R 72 Diego ROMANINI Proteam Racing Ford Focus RS 7 7 Laps 1:51.844 15
R 10 Gianni MORBIDELLI West Coast Racing Honda Civic TCR 5 9 Laps 1:40.939 10
R 20 Igor SKUZ West Coast Racing Honda Civic TCR 4 10 Laps 1:41.922 11
R 43 Dániel NAGY Zengő Motorsport SEAT León Racer DNS N/A 8

Complete race results

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here