New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Wehrlein wins as Wittmann takes title

Photo by ITR e.V.Mercedes’ Pascal Wehrlein scored his first-ever Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters in at the EuroSpeedway Lausitz, as BMW’s Marco Wittmann took the championship title with two rounds to spare.

Wehrlein led the race from the start having secured his first DTM pole position on Saturday. The 19-year-old continuously extended his lead over the opening ten laps of the race and, despite a scare on lap 16 where he slid off the circuit, was never really challenged for the win. Wehrlein went on to win by a comfortable 15.418 seconds over team-mate Christian Vietoris.

Third went to Audi’s Timo Scheider, who scored his first podium result since the penultimate round of the 2013 season at Zandvoort. The German was lucky to finish on the podium, however. Mercedes’ Daniel Juncadella was initially running in second, and later third, before being handed a drive-through penalty for not respecting yellow flags. That dropped the Spaniard to fourth and denied him a first DTM podium.

- Advertisement -

It was a case of what could have been for Mercedes, for Robert Wickens, who finished in fifth, also had to serve a drive-through penalty for the same offence as Juncadella.

Sixth went to Wittmann and with it the 24-year-old took the title. Audi’s Mattias Ekström, who could have taken the fight to the RMG BMW driver, slid off the track on lap three and eventually retired after 26 laps when a wheel came off his Audi in a race to forget for the Swede.

BMW Team RBM’s Augusto Farfus finished the race in seventh, ahead of BMW Team Schnitzer’s Martin Tomczyk in eighth who had a strong drive from last on the grid after receiving a penalty after qualifying for blocking other cars. Tomczyk’s result also came despite being turned aroudn by team-mate Bruno Spengler and later by Audi’s Jamie Green.

Audi’s Miguel Molina and reigning champion Mike Rockenfeller completed the top ten.

With 12th place, Russian Vitaly Petrov enjoyed his strongest DTM race to-date, although he was still beaten by most of his Mercedes’ team-mates.

A poor race for the Brits saw Gary Paffett finish down in 13th after a spin on lap six, whilst Green finished four laps down in 17th after three spins and a drive-through penalty for the aforementioned contact with Tomczyk.

Mercedes’ Paul di Resta had been battling with Wittmann for sixth but he ran wide and later retired from the race.

Portuguese BMW driver António Félix da Costa retired after six laps when he spun out of the race.

Top ten result

1 25 Pascal WEHRLEIN gooix AMG Mercedes DTM Mercedes AMG C-Coupé 52 1:15:47.314 1:19.976 1
2 5 Christian VIETORIS Original-Teile AMG Mercedes DTM Mercedes AMG C-Coupé 52 15.418 1:20.464 11
3 2 Timo SCHEIDER Audi Sport Team Phoenix Audi RS5 DTM 52 15.681 1:19.782 4
4 19 Daniel JUNCADELLA Petronas AMG Mercedes DTM Mercedes AMG C-Coupé 52 18.024 1:19.978 5
5 12 Robert WICKENS FREE MAN’S WORLD AMG Mercedes DTM Mercedes AMG C-Coupé 52 32.677 1:20.317 12
6 23 Marco WITTMANN BMW Team RMG BMW M4 DTM 52 48.435 1:20.415 7
7 3 Augusto FARFUS BMW Team RBM BMW M4 DTM 52 1:02.380 1:20.693 20
8 10 Martin TOMCZYK BMW Team Schnitzer BMW M4 DTM 52 1:07.705 1:20.445 23
9 8 Miguel MOLINA Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline Audi RS5 DTM 52 1:08.719 1:20.343 6
10 1 Mike ROCKENFELLER Audi Sport Team Phoenix Audi RS5 DTM 52 1:13.480 1:21.270 10

Complete race results

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here