New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Rob Austin storms to Rockingham race three win

Exocet Racing’s Rob Austin emulated his 2013 success by taking victory in the final British Touring Car Championship at Rockingham with a dominant display in race three.

Austin used his rear-wheel drive advantage to get ahead of pole man Alain Menu before turn one and never looked back, opening up a 1.5 second lead in his Audi A4 to take his second-ever win in the series at the same venue he took his first victory.

Menu himself held on to finish in second and score his first podium since 2000, unable to close in on Austin and challenge for the win.

- Advertisement -

Reigning champion Andrew Jordan finished in third, scoring his first podium finish since Croft in June. The Pirtek Racing driver had to withstand heavy pressure from eBay Motors’ Colin Turkington, although the championship leader settled for fourth in the end.

Airwaves Racing’s Mat Jackson scored his third top ten finish of the day in fifth and was involved in a close battle with eBay Motors’ Rob Collard, who finished in sixth.

MG duo Jason Plato and Sam Tordoff finished in sixth and seventh, with the latter passing Airwaves’ Fabrizio Giovanardi for eighth three laps from the chequered flag.

Honda’s Matt Neal finished in ninth and was the sole driver for the team to score points after title contender Gordon Shedden retired on the opening lap. The Scot had damage to the front-right of his car after contact with another driver.

There was a high attrition rate during the race, with nine drivers failing to finish. Marc Hynes retired on the opening lap along with Hunter Abbott after contact, whilst Adam Morgan also pulled into the pits with damage to his Mercedes. Aiden Moffat stopped exiting turn one with some emanating from his car, whilst Jack Goff stopped on the final lap after having been running in the top ten.

Top ten result

1 101 I Rob AUSTIN Exocet Racing Audi A4 16 22:47.734 1:24.091 2
2 9 I Alain MENU CHROME Edition Restart Racing Volkswagen CC 16 2.720 1:24.209 1
3 1 I Andrew JORDAN Pirtek Racing Honda Civic 16 5.862 1:24.379 3
4 5 I Colin TURKINGTON eBay Motors BMW 125i M Sport 16 7.382 1:24.284 6
5 6 I Mat JACKSON Airwaves Racing Ford Focus ST 16 8.245 1:24.332 7
6 10 I Rob COLLARD eBay Motors BMW 125i M Sport 16 8.440 1:24.187 9
7 99 M Jason PLATO MG KX Clubcard Fuel Save MG6 16 11.173 1:24.284 5
8 88 M Sam TORDOFF MG KX Clubcard Fuel Save MG6 16 13.547 1:24.303 4
9 4 M Matt NEAL Honda Yuasa Racing Honda Civic Tourer 16 15.977 1:24.090 14
10 17 I Dave NEWSHAM AmD Ford Focus ST 16 25.037 1:24.527 18

Complete race results

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here