New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Yvan Muller topples José María López in second practice

Yvan Muller beat Citroën team-mate José María López to the top time in the second World Touring Car Championship practice session in Argentina, with the gap just 0.040 seconds between the title rivals.

Tom Chilton improved on his first practice session to go third fastest in his ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet, less than a tenth of a second off the pace.

There was bad luck for the Brit’s team-mate however, as Tom Coronel was forced out of the session after just ten minutes when his Cruze caught fire. The Dutchman thus ended the session in 16th as the slowest TC1 driver.

- Advertisement -

Former World Rally driver Sébastien Loeb was fourth fastest, with the Citroën driver ahead of the two works’ Hondas of Gabriele Tarquini and Tiago Monteiro in fifth and sixth respectively. Portugese Monteiro was one of several drivers to run wide exiting the final turn, running through the gravel.

Campos Racing’s Hugo Valente was seventh, having improved his time in the final seconds of the session, ahead of eighth-placed Zengő Motorsport Honda driver Norbert Michelisz.

Rob Huff was the top LADA driver in ninth thanks to an improvement in the closing minutes of the session, with the Brit within a second of the outright pace.

René Münnich completed the top ten in his Münnich Motorsport Chevrolet, with the German being the last driver within a second of López.

Campos Racing’s Dušan Borković was 11th ahead of LADA’s Mikhail Kozlovskiy in 12th. The young Russian had earlier been the top LADA driver in the session, before Huff improved his time.

TC2 saw Franz Engstler continue to lead the way, with the veteran German half a second faster than young Frenchman John Filippi.

Qualifying takes place at 19:00 BST (20:00 CEST; 15:00 ART).

Top ten times

1 1 TC1 Yvan MULLER Citroën Total WTCC Citroën C-Elysée WTCC 12 1:44.214
2 37 TC1 José María LÓPEZ Citroën Total WTCC Citroën C-Elysée WTCC 12 1:44.254 0.040
3 3 TC1 Tom CHILTON ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 10 1:44.285 0.071
4 9 TC1 Sébastien LOEB Citroën Total WTCC Citroën C-Elysée WTCC 13 1:44.364 0.150
5 2 TC1 Gabriele TARQUINI Castrol Honda WTC Team Honda Civic WTCC 12 1:44.472 0.258
6 18 TC1 Tiago MONTEIRO Castrol Honda WTC Team Honda Civic WTCC 10 1:44.525 0.311
7 7 TC1 Hugo VALENTE Campos Racing Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 12 1:44.647 0.433
8 5 TC1 Norbert MICHELISZ Zengő Motorsport Honda Civic WTCC 12 1:44.737 0.523
9 12 TC1 Rob HUFF LADA Sport Lukoil LADA Granta 1.6T 14 1:44.981 0.767
10 77 TC1 René MÜNNICH ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 14 1:45.119 0.905

Complete session results

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here