New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Árón Smith scores BMR’s first win at Oulton

Team BMR’s Árón Smith scored his second win in the British Touring Car Championship, and the first for his team, in a damp final race of the day at Oulton Park, ahead of Gordon Shedden and Jason Plato.

Smith led the entire race from pole position, having been selected by team-mate Alain Menu after race two in the random reverse grid draw.

Shedden made his way up to second on lap three with a pass on Rob Collard at the chicane after the eBay Motors driver went straight on at the chicane. The duo had earlier in the lap benefitted when Airwaves Racing’s Mat Jackson slid out of second at Cascades on the damp circuit.

- Advertisement -

Plato initially secured the final podium position, with the move coming on lap 11 when the MG driver nudged Colin Turkington out of the position at the Shell Oils hairpin. Turkington went on to finish fourth, despite looking like a possible contender for victory two thirds into the race. However after the race the positions were reversed, with Plato receiving a 1.1 second time penalty after the move was adjudged to have been unfair.

Rob Austin enjoyed his strongest weekend in the BTCC so far in 2014 by finishing in fifth to add to his earlier fifth and third in the opening two races of the day.

MG’s Sam Tordoff finished in sixth, his third top ten of the day, ahead of Team BMR’s Alain Menu in seventh.

Reigning champion Andrew Jordan was eighth in his Pirtek Honda, taking his best finish of the day in a difficult weekend for the 25-year-old.

Airwaves Racing duo Mat Jackson and Fabrizio Giovanardi completed the top ten, with Jackson recovering from his earlier slide to pass Giovanardi on the penultimate lap of the race.

After his earlier off at the chicane, Collard was turned around by Plato at Lodge Corner on lap six and consequently could only finish in 11th position.

There were retirements for Jack Goff, Matt Neal and Tom Ingram on the opening lap of the race, with the first two making contact at Old Hall corner. Ingram stopped further around the lap with mechanical problems on his Toyota.

Robb Holland also failed to finish the race, slowing with problems on his Rotek Racing Audi after three laps whilst running in a strong 12th position.

Top ten result

1 40 I Árón SMITH CHROME Edition Restart Racing Volkswagen Passat CC 13 26:08.776 1:53.604 1
2 52 M Gordon SHEDDEN Honda Yuasa Racing Honda Civic Tourer 13 0.846 1:53.462 4
3 5 I Colin TURKINGTON eBay Motors BMW 125i M Sport 13 2.214 1:53.591 8
4 99 M Jason PLATO MG KX Clubcard Fuel Save MG6 13 2.240 1:53.242 5
5 101 I Rob AUSTIN Exocet Racing Audi A4 13 3.273 1:53.563 7
6 88 M Sam TORDOFF MG KX Clubcard Fuel Save MG6 13 3.519 1:53.328 9
7 9 I Alain MENU CHROME Edition Restart Racing Volkswagen Passat CC 13 4.229 1:53.801 11
8 1 I Andrew JORDAN Pirtek Racing Honda Civic 13 5.92 1:53.434 10
9 6 I Mat JACKSON Airwaves Racing Ford Focus ST 13 13.095 1:53.317 3
10 7 I Fabrizio GIOVANARDI Airwaves Racing Ford Focus ST 13 14.199 1:54.518 21

Complete race results

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here