New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Hugo Valente goes fastest in second practice

Campos Racing’s Hugo Valente was the fastest driver in the second and final World Touring Car Championship practice session in France, as RML Chevrolet cars locked out the top two spots.

Frenchman Valente went to the top of the times at his local circuit with six minutes remaining in the session, with fellow Chevrolet driver Tom Chilton posting the second fastest time in the closing minutes of the session 0.129 seconds behind. ROAL Motorsport’s Chilton had previously been fastest at the half-way point in the session.

Honda’s Tiago Monteiro posted a quick lap late in the session to improve from tenth to third, ahead of the second Campos car of Dušan Borković who posted his best time just seconds after Valente.

- Advertisement -

The top Citroën driver was reigning champion Yvan Muller in fifth, eight tenths of the pace. Muller’s team-mate José María López was sixth fastest, ahead of the Honda duo of Gabriele Tarquini and Norbert Michelisz who were the final drivers to be within a second of Valente.

Sébastien Loeb and Gianni Morbidelli rounded out the top ten for Citroën and Münnich Motorsport respectively.

Franz Engstler was again fastest in TC2, posting a time 4.354 seconds off the TC1 pace.

There were no major incidents during the session, with all drivers steering clear of the tyre stacks which caught out Muller in first practice.

Top ten times

1 7 TC1 Hugo VALENTE Campos Racing Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 10 1:30.673 0.000
2 3 TC1 Tom CHILTON ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 13 1:30.802 0.129
3 18 TC1 Tiago MONTEIRO Castrol Honda WTC Team Honda Civic WTCC 12 1:31.162 0.489
4 98 TC1 Dušan BORKOVIĆ NIS Petrol by Campos Racing Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 12 1:31.222 0.549
5 1 TC1 Yvan MULLER Citroën Total WTCC Citroën C-Elysée WTCC 12 1:31.483 0.810
6 37 TC1 José María LÓPEZ Citroën Total WTCC Citroën C-Elysée WTCC 12 1:31.562 0.889
7 2 TC1 Gabriele TARQUINI Castrol Honda WTC Team Honda Civic WTCC 12 1:31.578 0.905
8 5 TC1 Norbert MICHELISZ Zengő Motorsport Honda Civic WTCC 14 1:31.667 0.994
9 9 TC1 Sébastien LOEB Citroën Total WTCC Citroën C-Elysée WTCC 13 1:31.712 1.039
10 10 TC1 Gianni MORBIDELLI ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 10 1:31.757 1.084

Complete session results

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here