New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

BTCC announces record entry list

Photo by British Touring Car Championship has unveiled a record 32-car entry list for the 2013 season, with the grid set to feature four ex-champions, 26 NGTC and 6 S2000 entries.

The championship will feature 13 different models of car from 11 different manufacturers, with the majority of machines conforming to the NGTC regulations. In addition six drivers will continue in S2000 machinery, contesting the Jack Sears Trophy.

Eighteen teams have entered 32 cars – the limit for the BTCC – for the season. It means that the series will feature large grids at every round – although not all teams will be present at the season-opening Brands Hatch meeting in one week’s time, with Andy Neate’s IP Tech racing squad already announcing their intention to skip the event.

- Advertisement -

The record entry list that we’ve announced today is a great validation of NGTC technical regulations and real testament to the continued success, growth and stability of the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship.

“The current health of the BTCC is absolutely fantastic and even more staggering, perhaps, with the challenging economic climate,” said BTCC boss Alan Gow. “Our teams have worked incredibly hard and have demonstrated real commitment to this championship – particularly as the majority have invested in the latest specification NGTC machinery. We continue to evolve this bright new era of the BTCC and all the teams have benefited from the success of the championship.

“Our trackside attendance has increased year-on-year over the last decade. The ITV audience figures and airtime reached all-time highs last year and we have now proudly announced an important new contract with them until 2017. We’d also like to thank our other partners, not least of which is our title sponsor Dunlop – these companies recognise the importance and value of being involved in the BTCC.

“We have a huge grid – including four champions in the line-up – culminating in fresh colours, cars and stars in the BTCC. The strength in depth continues to rise along with the undoubted professionalism and turnout of our loyal and committed teams. That is why the BTCC is so firmly cemented as the UK’s premier and most popular motor sport series.”

The first round of the 2013 BTCC takes place at Brands Hatch on the 30/31 March 2013.

The full 2013 entry list:

# Driver Team Car
1 Gordon Shedden Honda Yuasa Racing Honda Civic
2 Matt Neal Honda Yuasa Racing Honda Civic
4 Michael Caine Addison Lee Motorbase Ford Focus
5 Rob Collard eBay Motors BMW 125i M Sport
6 Tom Onslow-Cole / Kraftwerk Racing Volkswagen Passat CC
7 Mat Jackson Airwaves Racing Ford Focus
8 Áron Smith Airwaves Racing Ford Focus
10 Daniel Welch Welch Motorsport with Sopp + Sopp Proton Gen-2
11 Frank Wrathall Dynojet Toyota Avensis
12 David Nye Welch Motorsport with Sopp + Sopp Ford Focus
13 Rob Austin WIX Racing Audi A4
14 Will Bratt WIX Racing Audi A4
15 James Kaye AmD Volkswagen Golf
17 David Newsham Speedworks Motorsport Toyota Avensis
18 Nick Foster eBay Motors BMW 125i M Sport
20 James Cole RCIB Insurance Racing Vauxhall Insignia
22 Howard Fuller / Kraftwerk Racing Volkswagen Passat CC
28 Chris Stockton BTC Racing Chevrolet Cruze
29 Colin Turkington eBay Motors BMW 125i M Sport
31 Jack Goff RCIB Insurance Racing Vauxhall Insignia
33 Adam Morgan Ciceley Racing Toyota Avensis
39 Warren Scott Team BMR Restart SEAT León
43 Lea Wood Wheel Heaven / Houseman Racing Vauxhall Vectra
44 Andy Neate Team Club 44 Chevrolet Cruze
48 Ollie Jackson Speedworks Motorsport Toyota Avensis
55 Jeff Smith Pirtek Racing Honda Civic
66 Liam Griffin Addison Lee Motorbase Ford Focus
77 Andrew Jordan Pirtek Racing Honda Civic
88 Sam Tordoff MG KX Momentum Racing MG6
90 Joe Girling M247 Racing Chevrolet Cruze
99 Jason Plato MG KX Momentum Racing MG6
TBA TBA Team Club 44 Chevrolet Cruze
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here