New TCN Logo

Upcoming events:

New TCN Logo

Shanghai WTCC: Penalty Summary

Rounds 21 and 22 of the 2012 World Touring Car Championship took place at the Shanghai International Circuit in China, with Alain Menu and Rob Huff securing the victories.

Since the races finished, there have been a number of penalties applied for the first race which has seen the results changed dramatically.

The opening lap saw Norbert Michelisz tap Yvan Muller and behind, this caused mayhem as drivers’ looked to avoid the accident and spinning cars.

- Advertisement -

Later in the lap, there was another accident down at Turn 4 which involved Colin Turkington, Pepe Oriola and Tom Coronel.

The following drivers have been given a 30 second retrospective penalty for cutting a chicane in avoidance of the accident and thus gained an advantage:

  • Tom Boardman – demoted from 6th to 12th
  • Tiago Monteiro – demoted from 7th to 13th
  • Fredy Barth – demoted from 10th to 14th
  • Hugo Valente – demoted from 15th to 16th
  • James Nash – retired

With the penalties being applied, it means that the returning Colin Turkington is sixth, Alberto Cerqui seventh, Mehdi Bennani 8th, Franz Engstler 9th and Charles Ng 10th, his first points finish of the 2012 campaign.

The penalty for Valente also affects the Yokohama Independents’ battle as well as Norbert Michelisz is promoted to 15th and picks up another point in the category.

Yvan Muller was given a 30 second penalty in the second race for the incident with Alain Menu, which saw the Frenchman hit the back of his team-mate and spun him out of the lead. Muller’s 30s penalty means he is classified 13th and out of the points.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Stay Connected


Must Read

- Advertisement -

Related News

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here