Mike Rockenfeller leads the way in Lausitz first practice

Mike Rockenfeller leads the way in Lausitz first practice

Photo: © ITR e.V.

Mike Rockenfeller was fastest for the first Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters free practice at the Lausitzring, as the Audi Sport driver led an Ingolstadt 1-2, ahead of Sweden’s Mattias Ekström.

The 2013 champion posted the fastest time of a 1:17.278, just 0.097 seconds ahead of his stablemate, with Mercedes’ Robert Wickens bringing his C63 AMG Coupé into the top three.

The top three were separated by just over two tenths of a second, whilst Audi dominated proceedings, with all of their RS5 DTMs in the top half of the time sheets.

Last year’s race one winner and current points leader Lucas Auer was fifth fastest behind Team Rosberg’s Jamie Green, who took the first double win at the Brandenburg circuit in 2015.

Loïc Duval was eighth fastest in his Audi, over a very tightly-packed field, with all 18 drivers split by 1.025 seconds, as the Mercedes pair of Maro Engel and Edoardo Mortara were the slowest of all runners.

Defending champion Marco Wittmann was 13th fastest, with all six M4 DTMs ending up in the lower half of the field, led by Britain’s Tom Blomqvist in 11th.

Gary Paffett, who takes his 150th DTM start this weekend, rounded out the top ten, behind Scotland’s Paul Di Resta.

Free Practice 2 gets underway tomorrow morning (Saturday, May 20th) at 0840 local time, lasting for 30 minutes.

Session results

199Mike ROCKENFELLERAudi Sport Team PhoenixAudi RS5 DTM261:17.2780.000
25Mattias EKSTRÖMAudi Sport Team Abt SportslineAudi RS5 DTM221:17.3750.097
36Robert WICKENSMercedes-AMG Motorsport Mercedes meMercedes-AMG C63 DTM221:17.4890.211
453Jamie GREENAudi Sport Team RosbergAudi RS5 DTM221:17.5470.269
522Lucas AUERMercedes-AMG Motorsport BWTMercedes-AMG C63 DTM241:17.6060.328
651Nico MÜLLERAudi Sport Team Abt SportslineAudi RS5 DTM251:17.7340.456
733René RASTAudi Sport Team RosbergAudi RS5 DTM251:17.9000.622
877Loïc DUVALAudi Sport Team PhoenixAudi RS5 DTM181:17.9740.696
93Paul DI RESTAMercedes-AMG Motorsport SILBERPFEIL EnergyMercedes-AMG C63 DTM251:18.0160.738
102Gary PAFFETTMercedes-AMG Motorsport Mercedes meMercedes-AMG C63 DTM251:18.0230.745
1131Tom BLOMQVISTBMW Team RMRBMW M4 DTM211:18.0340.756
1216Timo GLOCKBMW Team RMRBMW M4 DTM191:18.0680.790
1311Marco WITTMANNBMW Team RMGBMW M4 DTM201:18.0730.795
1436Maxime MARTINBMW Team RBMBMW M4 DTM211:18.1780.900
157Bruno SPENGLERBMW Team RBMBMW M4 DTM221:18.1950.917
1615Augusto FARFUSBMW Team RMGBMW M4 DTM201:18.2250.947
1763Maro ENGELMercedes-AMG Motorsport SILBERPFEIL EnergyMercedes-AMG C63 DTM251:18.2350.957
1848Edoardo MORTARAMercedes-AMG Motorsport BWTMercedes-AMG C63 DTM201:18.3031.025