Norbert Michelisz leads Honda 1-2 after puncture for Nicky Catsburg

Norbert Michelisz leads Honda 1-2 after puncture for Nicky Catsburg

Norbert Michelisz
Photo: Francois Flamand / DPPI

Norbert Michelisz lead team-mate Tiago Monteiro home for a Honda 1-2 in the Main World Touring Car Championship race in Argentina, after early race leader Nicky Catsburg picked up a puncture whilst leading.

Pole-sitter Catsburg took the lead at the start whilst Michelisz settled into second ahead of team-mate Tiago Monteiro.

The Honda duo appeared to lack the pace of Catsburg at the front, with the Dutchman opening up an advantage of over a second before disaster struck on lap seven when the Volvo driver picked up a front-left puncture for the second consecutive race.

With Catsburg crawling back to the pits, Michelisz was left leading Monteiro and the duo were unchallenged thereafter, allowing the Hungarian, who admitted to feeling unwell once again this weekend, to pick up his second win of the season – the first time that Michelisz has won more than one race in a WTCC season.

Thed Björk picked up a consolation podium for Polestar in third, limiting the championship lead damage done with the Volvo driver just 12 points adrift heading into the late Summer break.

Campos Racing’s Esteban Guerrieri had another strong race to take fourth, despite contact with both Sébastien Loeb Racing drivers of Tom Chilton and Mehdi Bennani at the start of the race.

Polestar’s Néstor Girolami took sixth, having put significant pressure on Guerrieri late in the race for the honour of the top Argentine driver but just come short.

Chilton took seventh, ahead of race one winner Yann Ehrlacher in eighth and Münnich Motorsport’s Rob Huff in ninth – the Brit putting plenty of pressure on the Frenchman ahead throughout the race but ultimately being unable to find a way past.

ROAL Motorsport’s Tom Coronel was once again in the points in tenth after being unable to make significant progress in the low-attrition-rate race.

Having taken his second points of the season in the Opening Race, Honda’s Ryo Michigami could only manage 11th and no points in the Main Race.

The next round of the WTCC takes place in just under three months’ time at the brand new Ningbo International Speedpark in China in mid-October.

Race result

15Norbert MICHELISZHonda Racing Team JASHonda Civic WTCC1322:39.3751:43.5372
218Tiago MONTEIROHonda Racing Team JASHonda Civic WTCC130.5051:43.5743
362Thed BJÖRKPolestar Cyan RacingVolvo S60 Polestar131.3811:43.8445
486TEsteban GUERRIERICampos RacingChevrolet RML Cruze TC1136.3791:44.1564
525TMehdi BENNANISébastien Loeb RacingCitroën C-Elysée WTCC1314.2811:44.7527
661Néstor GIROLAMIPolestar Cyan RacingVolvo S60 Polestar1314.6751:44.6566
73TTom CHILTONSébastien Loeb RacingCitroën C-Elysée WTCC1320.3861:45.2648
868TYann EHRLACHERRC MotorsportLADA Vesta WTCC1320.751:45.27710
912TRob HUFFALL-INKL.COM Münnich MotorsportCitroën C-Elysée WTCC1320.9991:45.24013
109TTom CORONELROAL MotorsportChevrolet RML Cruze TC11321.9831:45.20212
1134Ryo MICHIGAMIHonda Racing Team JASHonda Civic WTCC1322.3611:45.1789
1227TJohn FILIPPISébastien Loeb RacingCitroën C-Elysée WTCC1322.9891:45.43511
1324TKevin GLEASONRC MotorsportLADA Vesta WTCC1326.7011:45.49216
1499TDániel NAGYZengő Motorsport KftHonda Civic WTCC1339.9961:46.14914
1566TZsolt Dávid SZABÓZengő Motorsport KftHonda Civic WTCC1340.4371:45.83115
1663Nicky CATSBURGPolestar Cyan RacingVolvo S60 Polestar12+ 1 Lap1:43.4801