Robert Colciago wins as Stefano Comini establishes narrow championship lead

Robert Colciago wins as Stefano Comini establishes narrow championship lead

Roberto Colciago
Photo: TCR Media
Photo: TCR Media

Roberto Colciago defied maximum success ballast to claim his third victory of the season in the second TCR International Series race at Salzburgring.

A non-start for Jean-Karl Vernay after damage in race one, coupled with Stefano Comini’s third-place finish behind the impressive Attila Tassi ensures Comini will take a three-point championship lead to the Hungaroring.

Thomas Jager completed a stirring drive to claim fourth, with front-row start Gianni Morbidelli demoted to fifth.

The Craft-Bamboo pairing of James Nash and rookie Daniel Lloyd came next in sixth and seventh, though Lloyd remains under investigation by officials for potentially overtaking under yellow flag conditions.

Giacomo Altoe, Jens Reno Moller and Race 1 pole-sitter Mat’o Homola completed the top ten.

Colciago, as expected, made a blistering get-away, leaving Morbidelli to dispute second with Nash’s SEAT into the chicane at Turn 1.

The Brit lost out in the scrap, releasing Tassi to claim second at the long sweeping right-hander of Turn 9 a lap later.

The Italian veteran would force the matter with a boisterous move back to the inside of Tassi, but was ultimately forced to settle for third at that stage.

The net result of those squabbles was a 2.5 second lead for Colciago at the front, with Comini able to close on the leading three amid the dicing.

Comini was next to relegate Morbidelli, with Pepe Oriola opportunistically seizing on the manouevre to slide up the inside into fourth.

Disaster struck Race 1 winner Dusan Borkovic as he spun into the gravel at half-distance.

A puncture for Oriola heading through the fast right-hander at Turn 9 would then similarly pitch him around into the gravel, forcing the safety car back out on circuit.

Colciago made a clean restart following the stoppage and from there extended his advantage to 1.2 seconds at the chequered flag.

The series heads next to the Hungaroring on 1-2 July.

Race result

15Roberto COLCIAGOM1RAHonda Civic Type-R TCR1727:50.4741:27.0841
29Attila TASSIM1RAHonda Civic Type-R TCR171.2671:27.1606
31Stefano COMINIComtoyou RacingAudi RS3 LMS TCR171.5031:27.1423
435Thomas JÄGERTeam Kissling MotorsportOpel Astra TCR171.9451:26.5835
510Gianni MORBIDELLIWest Coast RacingVolkswagen Golf GTi TCR172.4531:26.8822
654James NASHLukoil Craft-Bamboo RacingSEAT León TCR172.8151:26.9994
717Daniel LLOYDLukoil Craft-Bamboo RacingSEAT León TCR176.7771:27.56110
821Giacomo ALTOÈWest Coast RacingVolkswagen Golf GTi TCR177.4361:27.69816
911Jens Reno MØLLERReno RacingHonda Civic Type-R TCR178.3371:27.88613
1070Mat’o HOMOLADG Sport CompétitionOpel Astra TCR179.4311:27.6749
1116Davit KAJAIAGE-ForceAlfa Romeo Giulietta TCR161 Lap1:27.10712
1236Enrico BETTERAPit Lane CompetizioniAudi RS3 LMS TCR161 Lap1:27.92518
R6Frédéric VERVISCHComtoyou RacingAudi RS3 LMS TCR12DNF1:27.54611
R66Grégoire DEMOUSTIERDG Sport CompétitionOpel Astra TCR11DNF1:27.49615
R74Pepe ORIOLALukoil Craft-Bamboo RacingSEAT León TCR10DNF1:26.6927
R18Duncan ENDEIcarus MotorsportsSEAT León TCR9DNF1:27.81817
R62Dušan BORKOVIĆGE-ForceAlfa Romeo Giulietta TCR5DNF1:27.8438
R34Stian PAULSENStian Paulsen RacingSEAT León TCR4DNF1:41.64814
NS3Rob HUFFLeopard Racing Team WRTVolkswagen Golf GTi TCRDNSN/A
NS2Jean-Karl VERNAYLeopard Racing Team WRTVolkswagen Golf GTi TCRDNSN/A
NS32Luigi FERRARATop Run MotorsportSubaru WRX STi TCRDNSN/A